

1840 Wilson Boulevard • Arlington, VA 22201-3000 703-243-7100 • Fax. 703-243-7177 • *www.nsta.org* 

To Whom It May Concern:

The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), in conjunction with the Louisiana Science Teachers Association (LSTA), will be hosting an Area Conference in New Orleans, LA, from November 30–December 2, 2017. The theme of the conference is **Celebrate Science: Inspire, Integrate, Innovate**, and it will feature these supporting strands:

- 1. Inspire Our Young Learners
- 2. Integrate Science Education for ALL
- 3. Innovate Science Education for Tomorrow

Teachers are critical to supporting students' learning, and this highly specialized professional development event will equip teachers with skills and knowledge to support all students in these pursuits. This NSTA area conference offers unique opportunities for those involved in science teaching to learn how to effectively integrate various instructional approaches into their teaching and learning environments including:

General sessions from nationally known presenters including Dr. Debbie Silver and Okhee
Lee

• Hands-on workshops that enhance on-going development of teachers and school leaders to improve their content knowledge

Concurrent sessions to promote current best practices in instructional planning and Assessment

• Networking opportunities to develop relationships within a nationwide professional community of science educators

• Focused sessions on instructional strategies that make connections between literacy and scientific concepts and build pedagogical knowledge of science teaching.

We are confident that the programming and events associated with the NSTA Area Conference in New Orleans will help to ensure successful implementation of science education into our schools and communities.

For more information, please visit the NSTA Conference website at <u>www.nsta.org/neworleans</u>.

We hope you and your colleagues will take advantage of this unique offering.

Sincerely,

NSTA New Orleans Area Conference Committee

Jean May-Brett Conference Chair Nathan Cotton Local Planning Coordinator Shannon Lafont Program Coordinator